Just a few kilometres from the centre of Koblenz rises the Stolzenfels Castle in the district of the same name, high above the left bank of the Rhine. Built in the 19th century from the ruins of a 13th century fort, the castle with its park and gardens is culturally, historically and artistically one of the most important achievements of Prussian Rhine Romanticism.
The Stolzenfels fort, built by Trier Archbishop Arnold von Isenburg, was used for levying the Rhine toll until 1412. The French destroyed the fort in 1689 during the Palatinate War of Succession. The site became the possession of the city of Koblenz after Napoleon’s defeat. The city then gave the ruins to the Prussian Crown Prince Friedrich Wilhelm in 1823.
He then commissioned well-known architect, Karl Friedrich Schinkel, with the reconstruction which began in 1836 to Schinkel’s plans.
The official opening was celebrated in 1842 with a grand costume ball. From this point on, the Stolzenfels Castle was open to the public and has always been regarded as the epitome of Rhine Romanticism.
Today the beautiful, seemingly enchanted castle where you can experience the impressive domestic culture of the 19th century can be reached on foot via a serpentine path from the Stolzenfels city district.
Useful information about the Stolzenfels Castle
|January & February|
|Sat & Sun: 10am - 5pm|
|9am - 5pm|
|April - September|
|9am - 6pm|
|October & November|
|9am - 5pm|
Last admission 45mins before closing. Closed on mondays (except on public holidays).
|Admission price (incl. tour through the castle rooms)|
More information can be found at: www.schloss-stolzenfels.de